Identity and Champion Selection in LoL

As I have mentioned in my previous post, the only game I currently play seriously is League of Legends (LoL). I have been playing the game on and off for at least 4 years now and my mentality about Champion Selection has changed drastically.

Champion Selection is the point in the game when you choose which character you want to play as. When I first started playing LoL I used to subconsciously pick female champions that had a lot of curves. Before I didn’t think much of it because I just thought the characters were beautiful. However, now I realize that I picked those champions because I wanted to have a similar body. I used to get teased for not having curves when I was younger so I would play champions that had the type of body I wish I had.

Around two years into playing LoL I started to play champions that were just easier in skill level. I still tended to pick female champions because I felt like I could identify with them. I liked the idea of carrying my team as a female character. It made me feel stronger as a women myself especially since it felt like most of the people I was playing with were men.

Now since I am a more experienced LoL player I pick champions that will work well with my turn or work well against the enemy team. However, I still try to play female characters. I just feel like there is more of myself in them when I play the game. In addition, there are a lot of female champions that compliment my play style so I tend lean towards them anyways. When I do play male characters or characters that aren’t human I still feel a connection, but it just isn’t the same. I don’t feel like I’m personally running down the lane trying to get to the teamfight in time to do some damage or heal people.

Does anyone else have a similar feeling while they are playing LoL or a different game? I would love to hear other people’s thoughts.

2 comments

  1. $tick

    Kind on a similar vein, I used a similar approach when it came to choosing which pokemon I wanted to have or that I thought were more valuable. I often found myself choosing pokemon that were bigger and scarier as they were more masculine than others per se. More often than not, these pokemon made my party significantly weaker to more skilled players who had methodically picked their teams to match a certain playstyle. It took me a while before I realized that I would have a much easier time if I gave up my preconceived notions about how physical appearance affects how strong or weak a pokemon is and simply just played with Pokemon with the best stats and abilities regardless of what they looked like. This meant getting rid of Nidoking and picking up Vaporean but in the end, it also meant more wins and easier wins.

    Like

  2. Nia

    Hi $tick,

    I really appreciated reading your comment because it made me realize that I used to do the same thing with pokemon. I used to always catch pokemon that were fluffy and feminine looking because I thought they were cute. I would also pick mostly fire type pokemon because I believe they were the most fierce. Since I chose my pokemon in this matter I usually got defeated pretty easily. It wasn’t until two years ago that I started assembling my team based on variety and move sets. Thank you for bringing this up.

    Like

Leave a comment